Luka Modric wins FIFA Best award

Luka Modric named best male player at Best Fifa Football Awards

Modric sees off Ronaldo & Salah for Player of the Year

Luka Modric ended Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's dominance of the best individual accolades in world football, which had stretched back to 2007, when Kaka won the Ballon d'Or.

Modric won his third Champions League title in a row in May and guided Croatia to their first World Cup final in July.

Modric, who helped Madrid win the Champions League before leading Croatia to the World Cup final, said he wanted the duo at the event.

Messi was a controversial absentee from the Best Men's Player nominations, with Luka Modric scooping the top prize ahead of Ronaldo and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah.

While Luka Modric, who scoped the top prize, and Mohamed Salah attended, their rivals were rebuked by several top figures for their absence.

Jogger stabbed to death in ‘unprovoked attack’
Friends say Ms Martinez enjoyed running across the nation's capitol, and became engaged to her boyfriend last Wednesday. He was wearing a distinctive mustard color shirt, which was not wearing at the time of his arrest, Newsham said.

Fabio Capello says Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi's absence at FIFA's The Best awards showed a lack of respect from the pair.

"I am as happy as if I had won it", said Ramos of Modric's success.

"Also I want to thank especially my family, my friends - they always stand by me in the good times, the bad times, but they are always there for good advice, so thank you everyone".

On Monday night at Fifa's "The Best" awards ceremony, Salah's goal against Everton was voted the best of the year and below you can see the strike from all angles.

Four Real Madrid teammates made the cut.

ABC managing director Michelle Guthrie ejected - Strategy
In a statement on Monday morning, the ABC announced Guthrie had left the position, effective immediately. He said it was an honour to lead the corporation.

Salah didn't leave empty-handed, picking up the Puskas Award for his goal in the Merseyside derby in December 2017.

"Maybe they've won too much". The coach award in the women's game went to Reynald Pedros, the Frenchman who led Lyon to French league and Champions League glory.

He also won the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award - beating Ronaldo and Salah in the process.

The players had their say, and so did the fans, who voted for the Puskás and FIFA Fan Awards, with Mo Salah the ultimate victor of the Puskás Award thanks to his outstanding goal against Everton. Thanks to my fans all over the world.

Real Madrid's Belgium global Thibaut Courtois won the Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Gunmen attack Iran military parade, killing at least 24
Hosseinzadeh also said in the clash, the security forces managed to kill two terrorists and arrest the two remaining militants. Arab separatists groups have operated in the region for years, according to the New York Times .

Latest News