Modric, Marta win Best FIFA player 2018 awards

Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric speaks after winning the trophy for the Best Fifa Men's Player of 2018 Award during The Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony in London

Ronaldo, Messi to miss FIFA The Best awards

Luka Modric, Mohamed Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo are the last players standing and seeking to be crowned the best player in the world this year by Federation Internationale de Football Association at their ceremony in London later on Monday.

Modric who guided Croatia to the world cup final for the first time, becomes the first Croatian player to win the award.

Mohamed Salah has won the 2018 Puskas Award for a superb solo effort for Liverpool in a Merseyside derby against Everton.

Others said that the goal wasn't even the best of the 44 that Salah scored in his record-breaking season for the Reds.

Ronaldo, Messi to miss FIFA The Best awards

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper was a new award for 2017 and was first won by Gianluigi Buffon.

Marta scored 13 goals and set up six more as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL play-off semi-finals in the United States - earning herself a place in the league's team of the year.

Following Modric's win, Ramos said the 33-year-old midfielder, who has starred since arriving at Madrid in 2012, was a worthy victor of the award.

Fans took to Twitter to try and find out the answer's behind Salah's shock omission.

Trump leverages USA military protection in OPEC price-gouging spat
The milestone was made possible in large part by higher oil prices, which allowed America's shale oil producers to ramp up output. Since September of 2017, the price of a barrel of Brent crude has climbed from roughly US$50 a barrel to US$78.66 today.

O'Neill selected Ronaldo in second with Liverpool's Mo Salah in third. Though a female has yet to win the award, Irish professional Stephanie Roche was shortlisted to the top three in 2014.

Modrić was also named in the Fifa Fifpro World XI. I would like to also thank those who voted for more.

Meanwhile, Didier Deschamps won Men's Coach of the Year ahead of Croatia's Zlatko Dalić and Zinedine Zidane.

'Good evening everyone. Nothing much to say about that but I'm very happy and very proud, ' Salah said after winning the Puskas award.

Jogger stabbed to death in ‘unprovoked attack’
Friends say Ms Martinez enjoyed running across the nation's capitol, and became engaged to her boyfriend last Wednesday. He was wearing a distinctive mustard color shirt, which was not wearing at the time of his arrest, Newsham said.

Former Chelsea man Thibaut Courtois was awarded the best goalkeeper award, after his Golden Glove-winning World Cup tournament with Belgium.

But for now, just bask in the glow of the forward picking up another award - and one so prestigious as the Puskas.

Maybe in a year Chelsea will be at Liverpool's level - Sarri
After the break West Ham continued to frustrate Chelsea , while Yarmolenko curled a shot narrowly over. "We needed two wingers". So, for the first time in three games, Hazard was left goalless.

Latest News